Some LowCountry Lovin’

I love a good road trip. Wednesday I hit the road – Charleston, SC bound. My baby brudder lives here and how lucky am I that I love this city. I spent today wandering downtown and having a one women adventure…

Lots  of old buildings to see

and food.. cause one must have sustenance on an adventure. The fine folks at Cru Cafe fed me well indeed. Chilled cucumber soup, Fresh, big fattie tomatoes with mozzeralla, basil and pickled hot peppers. And as if that wasn’t enough.. white chocolate blueberry bread pudding.

cucumber soup... I"m gonna have to learn how to make this

mouthwatering... juicy tomatoes, thick slices of mozzerella and the pickled peppers on top to slap the tastebuds just in case they slipped into a food flavor coma

and to put me right over the edge and in need of a hammock... this was warm and sweet and I wanted to lick my plate

They had bags of water hanging everywhere on the porch to keep the flies away. Learn something new everyday.

tiny fly eyes are blinded by the light refracting off the water and retreat with haste and horror

And so my belly all full and happy I returned to my walkabout of downtown which included a stroll through the City Market to find Edna’s LowCountry herbs and spices. One of my favourite places. Got a little stash of gumbo mix, some spicy herb blends and some sweet potato butter.

hmmm... which one caught my attention

As I walked along this place caught my attention

I think I'm almost old enough to join this.. .I know this is part of the College, maybe the name of their mascot? BUT maybe they could thought on the name a minute more.. cause there are people like me wanderin the streets

An “I want to be a princess” moment when I spotted this storefront

And these dresses... I want them both. Maybe I could wear them to the grocery ?

and this one... this one is special I'd have to wear it to the Taco Truck.. it's definately a special night kind of dress

I walked far and wide and turned left and right and right and left and got myself all turned around. I kept on walking cause eventually I have to find a street I recognize right? Instead I found one of these

A fire station! Oh boy oh boy

And fire stations have firetrucks and because they have firetrucks they HAVE to have these

This is Bruce. He's a fireman. Nice

He gave me directions to find my car somewhere in a parking garage on King Street. Nice Bruce.  Bein’ a fireman and all he has an important job. I had to leave Bruce behind,… sigh… but I did find my car.

After much walking, talking, eating and picture taking I found my car and immediately jumped in and set the air conditioner to a million degrees below zero as I was a hot sweaty mess.  I took a meandering route (please interpret this as ” I got all hell kinds of lost”) back home via Folly Beach and quick drive by the Longshoreman’s Association (you never know when you might need a longshoreman so it’s good to know where they can be found). If that wasn’t enough.. another yummy meal for dinner with family.  A fine fine day indeed.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Some LowCountry Lovin’

  1. Kim

    I must go thrift store shopping soon because I fear that I do not have any gowns nearly as lovely as those in your window shopping adventure…..and should you decide to dress all fancy-like at the next Itney soiree I do not wish to feel left out. And on another note….I thoroughly do not understand why you felt compelled to leave Bruce behind….I am quite certain he would have enjoyed hanging out with the Itney clan. Glad you are having a fabulous time!

Leave a comment